Touch of Nectar











{October 28, 2011}   A Lovely Evening with the Girls

I had such a nice time last night that I wanted to share it with you all.

I met up with the girls from my knitting group at Third Place Books to see the Yarn Harlot, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, speak about her new book. I had never seen her speak before, but I follow her blog and love her books, so I was really looking forward to it.

After quite litterally dropping the kid off on our doorstep, I rushed over the hill to the bookstore. I quickly found my friend Petra, who was eating dinner. I was starving, so I wandered off to find my own dinner. Sushi! And miso soup! From Kitto, which is in the same complex as the bookstore.

As I was waiting for my food, one of the other knitter ladies found us and told us where our saved seats were.  The room was packed with all kinds of people, needles and yarn in hand. This is great!

We found our seats and got ready for the show. No photos, because while I could see okay, I didn’t want a photo of the backs of a bunch of people’s heads. I wish I could have gotten a pic of the stash weasel though!

The Yarn Harlot did not disappoint. She was funny. VERY funny. I about lost it at one point when she started talking about how knitted bobbles look like nipples… Something we had talked about at a previous knit night. Tears were streaming from my eyes.

Sadly, the budget is tight this week, so I did not get the new book. A couple of the ladies stayed behind to get theirs signed though. The rest of us headed off to the bar for more knitting and chatter. As we were leaving, we met up with a few more of the ladies who had arrived late. My friend, Aleen, had broght me a new bento box. From Japan!! The kidling already laid claim to it and is using it today.

GREAT night!! Could not have been more perfect.  Well, okay, if I could have bought the book… but you know what I mean. 🙂

Leave a Reply

et cetera
