Touch of Nectar











{October 26, 2011}   Emergency Bento

I’m having a hard time making both pretty lunches for the kidling AND myself for some reason. I think mostly because they need to contain different things.

Well… It’s time to get creative. I don’t want to give up my daily bentos! I’ve stocked the fridge with fresh udon noodles. Yummy hot noodle soup. Perfect for the cool fall weather we are having. And the chewy noodles are satisfying.

They run $1-2 and last in the refrigerator for a long time. Some flavors are better than others. I like the mushroom flavor of this particular brand the best.

However, I always think these types of mixes need a little *something* more. So I put together a quicky “emergency bento” this morning to be paired with my packaged noodles.

I had sauteed some mushrooms to go with our dinner last night, and this package of udon just happens to be mushroom flavored. Perfect. The broccoli is the tiny bit left over from dinner and I had boiled quail eggs for the kidling’s lunches. I’ll peel them while the soup is cooking away in the microwave. A few slices of carrot for crunch and a soda for dessert.

Basically everything just gets thrown in the soup. The broccoli is already cooked. If it wasn’t, I would just put it in with the noodles while they were cooking.

I’m happy.  And looking forward to lunch!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
