Touch of Nectar











{September 8, 2011}   More Bento Stash for the Freezer

I often find ground turkey on sale for either 50% off or buy one get one free, so inevitably, I almost always have a pound or two in the freezer.

I pulled a package out to thaw the other day, then almost immediately forgot about it! Oops. Quick! What do I do so the meat doesn’t go bad? 

Meatballs of course!

This is something I like having on hand for both bentos and fast dinners. I freeze the meatballs in ziplock bags and take what I need out.

For dinner, just boil some pasta, and heat the (frozen!) meatballs with the sauce and toss it all together. Easy!

For bentos, I use 2-3 meatballs per lunch. I add them to the bento still frozen, and they are perfectly thawed by lunchtime.

I don’t have an “official” recipe for meatballs, but this is what I did this time around.  Hubby “doesn’t like” a lot of vegetables, so I sneak them in wherever I can. Meatballs are a great way to do that!

1 pound ground turkey
1 egg
1/3 cup (about) crushed saltine cracker crumbs.
1 zucchini, finely shredded
Grill seasoning to taste (I like the 21 herb blend from Trader Joes)

Mix with hand until well combined. Form into walnut-sized balls and bake at 375* for about 20 minutes or until cooked through. Allow to cool before storing.

To freeze: place the meatballs on a tray, not touching. Freeze until solid before placing in ziplock bags (label with type of meatball and date made).

Leave a Reply

et cetera
