Touch of Nectar











{April 25, 2011}   Quinoa Corn Cakes

I was at the Skagit Valley Co-Op this weekend, and like always, I had to check out what they had to offer in their deli section.

They had these gorgeous quiona-corn cakes. I had to try one. Delicious! So delicious, in fact, that when I got home I decided to try and recreate the recipe. It was a bit of an adventure.

First, I was out of quinoa. Backpacking bins to the rescue! I had cooked and pre-dehydrated quinoa. So I used that. And half a can of corn. Two eggs. And half a jar of roasted red bell pepper. And a handfull of fresh cilantro that is starting to wilt in the fridge. A teaspoon or so of cumin to spice it up.

Hmmmm… it isn’t holding together like I want it to. Add some bread. Nope. Still not working. Add flour! YES!!! But now it is a little too thick. So I added the rest of the can of corn.

Success!! While it wasn’t exactly like the Co-Op’s I think I now have the base of something good for next time. Good hot or cold too. Bonus.

(photo is of my version)

Leave a Reply

et cetera
