Touch of Nectar











{March 28, 2011}   Stocking the Freezer on about $20 a Week

We recently cleaned out nearly all of our freezer stock. While this is a good idea to do several times a year to keep things fresh, it makes me twitchy. I like having a very well stocked freezer in case of emergency. Surprise dinner guests, unemployment, illness, zombie apocalypse… It is also  nice to be able to pull something frozen out of the freezer, already prepped and have dinner ready in minutes. No thinking required. Some nights are like that.

Last week ground turkey was on sale buy one get one free, so I made a huge batch of meatballs. I froze them individually on a tray before placing them, in dinner-sized portions, in zip lock freezer bags. I bought a large package of chicken breasts. Half of the package made dinner for 3 with leftovers and the other half was cut into smaller portions and put in marinade in the freezer.  I also stocked up on some pantry items that were running dangerously low.

Week Total – $20.67
 
2 pounds Ground Turkey – $5
1 large package boneless, skinless chicken breasts – $12
2 cans tuna – $1.00
3 cans diced tomatoes – $2.67

I also made twice baked potatoes and froze 8 servings worth.

This week, I’m hoping to get to Costco and buy a package of pork roasts. They usually have them for $12. There is three decent sized roasts to a package. One will go in the crock pot for some sort of shredded pork dish, one will be sliced into scallopini/schnitzel/piccata ready portions (without the breading) and the third will be cut into stew-sized chunks, which could also be used for kebabs.

I will not be cooking this weekend, since I will be out of town, so I’ll concentrate on re-stocking instead of making dinner-ready food. The other thing I will purchase this week is hamburger. Trader Joes has well-packaged hamburger for $2.49 a pound. I will buy 4 and most likely use one for dinner this week.

Week total – $21.96.  At least 10 dinners for 4 can be made with just those two purchases.

Off to look for the recipes!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
