Touch of Nectar











{March 14, 2011}   Freezer to the Rescue!

Whenever I cook barley for a dish, I cook the whole bag. Barley takes a long time to cook, but it freezes well. I package the cooled, cooked barley into zip lock bags – about 1 ½ cups per bag.

I always have cooked barley ready to go. I can have barley mushroom soup (for example) on a weeknight for dinner with almost no work at all.

Then I found this pilaf recipe. It uses ingredients I usually have on hand. Trader Joes has the best artichoke hearts and canned beans. I keep a couple of cans of each in the pantry for my lunches.

For this recipe, I used already cooked barley from the freezer, thawed. I didn’t have pesto in the fridge so I used a bit of powdered mix. I also omitted the Parmesan cheese. I don’t think the recipe needs it.

The result? A very flavorful, rich but light pilaf. Delicious!

Link to recipe:  Barley Pilaf with Chickpeas and Artichoke Hearts

This looks great…I LOVE making big batches of things and keeping them in the freezer!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
