Touch of Nectar











{October 11, 2010}   A Step by Step Bento

Since I have a few friends who are getting into bento making, I thought I would do a step-by-step description with photos for them.

First, the tools. Bento box, chopsticks, knife, onigiri mold. Not shown are the silicone cupcake liners and cookie cutter I used. This bento took 15 minutes start to finish, including making the onigiri and taking photos. Most of my bentos take closer to 10 minutes to make.



Most of my bentos depend on dinner leftovers. This one is no different. The onigiris are stuffed with sauteed spinach and mushrooms.

Now to fill out the rest of the box. I depend on silicone cupcake liners a lot. I filled this one with diced peaches, then used grape tomatoes to fill the gaps. Miso chicken (dinner leftovers) takes up a good portion of the box as well.

A little fancy cut bell pepper for decoration. Those onigiri looked so plain…

A couple of sliced radishes, enoki mushrooms and radish sprouts round out the rest of the box.

And just to prove it all fits with the lid on…

Leave a Reply

et cetera
