Touch of Nectar











{October 20, 2009}   Farmer’s Market Abundance

What do you do when you are given an over abundance of free food from a wonderful local farmer’s market? You make biscuits of course!

Step 1: cut the squashes in half and remove the seeds. Rinse the seeds and put them aside to roast later.

Step 2: place squash on a baking sheet and rub edges with extra virgin olive oil. Bake at 375* for about 45 minutes or until the flesh is tender and scoopable.

Step 3: Scoop out the flesh into a big bowl. Discard the hard outer shells.

Step 4: puree the squash with a stick blender (I don’t have a food processor) until all of the chunks are gone.

Step 5: make biscuit dough. I used this recipe, replacing squash puree for the mashed potatoes. I could have used more flour and added some herbs. Fresh sage would have been especially nice.

Step 6: make biscuits. I just did drop biscuits. Easy!

Step 7: Bake!

The biscuits turned out very moist. I served them with a ham and mulit-bean soup (also from the farmer’s market). Perfect fall dinner!

The remaining 4 cups or so of squash puree got put into zip lock bags and stuck in the freezer. I’m hoping to make cream cheese cupcakes soon.

JD says:

I was wondering what kind of squash you where going to use for those.I love Acorn squash,they’d be gone before I could use them for baking anything πŸ™‚

But – I’ll give this one a try sometime πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

et cetera
