Touch of Nectar











{September 15, 2009}   Pear Overload – Part #4

Just when I thought I was sick of fruit, my friend, Jerry had me harvest his Asian Pear tree. Then my mother in law brought me a big bag of apples… I think I’m going to be busy for awhile! Anyone want an apple pie? We won’t talk about the 15 cups of blackberries in the freezer… yet.

But I digress… onto the pears. I am almost done! (until I go harvest the rest that is..) I have about 4 pounds left that I am going to run through the dehydrator today.

Last night I made Pear Zucchini Bread. The zucchini came from my neighbor’s garden. Do I look hungry? People keep giving me food! LOL. Not that I’m complaining of course…

Pear Zucchini Bread

2 cups chopped peeled pears
1 cup shredded zucchini
1 cup sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
3 eggs, beaten
1 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350*. In a large bowl, combine the first 7 ingredients. In a smaller bowl, mix flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, baking powder, and salt until well blended, and add to egg mixture. Fold in pecans. Pour into 2 greased 8x4x2-in. loaf pans. Bake 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes; remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

I don’t mess around with changing ingredients with baking recipes too much. The proportions need to be right for the final product to turn out. Ask me how I know…? I did use cinnamon instead of pumpkin pie spice, but other than that, I followed the recipe.

I wanted smaller loaves, so I bought some aluminum bread pans. One of these days I’ll get around to buying myself some nice smaller pans…


And breakfast has arrived! Where’s the Nutella? Or cream cheese?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
