Touch of Nectar











{September 14, 2009}   Pear Overload – Part #2

Yesterday the kidling and I needed breakfast, and I still needed to use up all these pears. I went on a hunt for a recipe for pancakes or waffles using pears… RecipeZaar let me down this time. That rarely happens! found a recipe at Everyday Health that turned out beautifully.

Pumpkin Pear Waffles

1 cup flour, whole-wheat pastry
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
2 eggs, beaten
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup pear, finely diced
 

Mix together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Beat together the eggs and sugar. Add in the flour mixture. Fold in the pumpkin and pear. Pour batter into a hot waffle iron coated with nonstick cooking spray and cook until waffles are crisp and browned. The batter will make 3 waffles.

I have posted it to my account at Zaar for safe keeping (not public yet). The recipe says it will make 3 waffles, but I think it depends on your waffle maker. I doubled the recipe and got a lot more than 6 waffles. If you use an egg substitute, these can be vegan!


Of course, being me, and completely unable to follow a recipe as written, I made a few changes. First, I doubled the recipe. I wanted some to freeze and I wanted to use up as many pears as possible. I was out of cinnamon, so I omitted that, but added about a teaspoon of real vanilla extract. In hindsight I think I could have added more vanilla and a bit less nutmeg.

One can of pumpkin puree is closer to 1 1/4 cups, not the 1 cup I would need for doubling. The whole thing went in. A little extra pumpkin flavor won’t hurt, right?


I used regular all purpose flour. I don’t keep lots of different flours on hand. It worked fine. Just let the batter “rest” before you start spooning it into the waffle maker. This will help make nice fluffy waffles.

One thing I learned the hard way was that the waffles will stick, despite having a non-stick waffle iron. Spray that baby!

After breakfast, I let the leftovers cool. I froze them individually before bagging them up. I have a plastic deli tray that is perfect for this. I use it for berries and apples too. Now the kidling can have gourmet waffles for breakfast any time she likes.

I think I’ll have some this morning topped with the ginger pear butter I made yesterday… Tomorrow’s Pear Overload post. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
