Touch of Nectar











{June 15, 2009}   Bento #43 – A new box!

On Saturday, the kidling and I wandered into a dollar store and found this box! I bought two. She picked the pink lid. I picked orange (also in turquoise and green – might go back for more). I like these because I can put both my breakfast and lunch in them and they snap all together.

On Sunday, I had time so I did a bit of lunch prep for the week (and future). I made a HUGE pot of sushi rice and made Spam Musubi. I’ve never made it before, but I’ve always wanted to. It would have been easier if I had a mold, but I made it work.

I also made some onigiri. Those I do have molds for. The larger size I filled with Hickory Smoked Tuna (from a foil packet). A bit dry, but very tasty. Lots of extras got wrapped up and put into the freezer.

Other preperations included boiling eggs,  making jello cups and cleaning/slicing fruits and veggies (watermelon, grapes, radishes and green beans) so I can just grab them and pack.


Breakfast on the left, lunch on the right.

Banana yogurt and grapes
Cherries and strawberry jello

boiled egg, edamame, spam musubi
radishes, onigiri stuffed with hickory smoked tuna (from a package) and sprinkled with furikake
red bell pepper

Leave a Reply

et cetera
