Touch of Nectar











{April 13, 2009}   Knitting FOs – Alpaca!

Despite being super busy with One Pan Wonders this month, I managed to get a bit of knitting done. I had purchased some wonderful 100% alpaca yarn awhile back for another project, then changed my mind on the colors for that project. That one is better suited to fall or winter knitting anyway.

I used the tan yarn to make a simple rolled brim hat. It is just stockinette, but it is knit in the round, so it is super fast and easy. Just knit knit knit! I should have made it just a tad longer, but it is soft and warm and comfy. Great for running around town.

I used the rust/wine colored yarn (much more red than the photo) to make my friend Sarah some cabled arm warmers for her birthday. I had found the pattern on Ravelry and had made myself some out of Cascade 220 wool. Hers are much nicer. Softer and warmer. They will be great for hiking this year. She can wear a thin pair of gloves under them and be extra warm. They are knit flat, then seamed together, allowing space for a thumb hole. Easy!! I have a feeling I will be making more of these as gifts in the future.

jomomma says:

OMG… I thought for sure I was the only knitter with a bento box. Glad to have run across your blog. I’m saving you to my list.



Are you on Ravelry?? There’s a group for Bento over there! Not terribly active, but I think people are reading more than posting… Come play! 🙂



Sarah says:

And very much appreciated…they will be great on chilly mornings this summer. I have hid them from the cats though….they like soft stuff!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
