Touch of Nectar











{January 28, 2009}   Knitting – Finally a FO! Cherry Garcia Hat

I had impulsively bought this beautiful skein of yarn from Knit Picks when I had ordered some other stuff recently. It is their Wool of the Andes Bulky Hand Dyed. The color is called “Cherry Cordial.” I had been disappointed with how slowly Knit Picks had delivered my yarn to me and had previously said I would never order from them again… Until I started knitting with this yarn. It is lovely. I will order again. And soon. The Robin’s Nest colorway in the same yarn is calling to me…

I did a search on Ravelry by yarn type to see what other people had made from this yarn and I found a pattern for a “Cherry Garcia” Cowl. (Neckwarmer). It had big beautiful cables and was calling out to be knitted with this yarn. It was just meant to be.

Knit on size 11 needles; think broomstick handles – scheesh – they are thick! It knitted up very quickly. When I got to the end of the last repeat, where you are supposed to just finish off the tube, I started thinking how nice this would look as a hat.  Nevermind that I’ve only been knitting for a whopping three weeks, this thing needed to be a hat.  So I took the hat to knitting class with me (we learned decreases last week – how convenient).

However, I didn’t like the advice my knitting teacher gave, since it would not keep the cables in pattern up to the top of the hat. I decided to wing it. Basically just decreasing 1 or 2 stitches per row, keeping the cables in pattern and even. It WORKED!!! I’m so freaking excited I can’t stand it!

Hubby says it looks like something from the 20’s or 30’s. Or a MaryTyler Moore hat. LOL! The only problem is the hat is just a teensy bit too big. But it is wool. Maybe I can shrink it some… But I love it!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
