Touch of Nectar











{December 1, 2008}   Turkey Carcass Soup – Thanksgiving Leftovers

Every year I save the carcass of our turkey just so I can make this soup. I found the recipe a long time ago in a cookbook called The Unwatched Pot. Of course, it is also in my files on RecipeZaar. But first let me tell you about the cookbook. Printed in 1975, and now out of print (you can find copies on Ebay and Amazon), I found my copy in a local thrift store. In addition to all the ordinary crock pot recipes you’d expect in a book this old, there are some fun surprises. This soup being one of them.

This is a great soup because all you have to do is dump the ingredients in and walk away. I’ve provided the recipe as it is written, but I do things a little differently. I do not add the turnip. I use a 16 ounce can of diced tomatoes and I never add the biscuits. Instead, I either freeze the soup as is for later use or I add noodles.

Turkey Soup With Dumplings
Serves 6-8

1 turkey carcass, broken up
8 cups water
1 tablespoon
instant chicken bouillon
1 (10 ounce) can
diced tomatoes
1 cup celery, diced
1/2 cup carrot, diced 
1 turnip, peeled and diced
1/2 cup onion, chopped
1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1/2 teaspoon
salt
1
bay leaf
1 (12 ounce) package refrigerated biscuits

Put all of the ingredients except for the biscuits in the crock pot.
Cover and cook on low 7-9 hours.
Remove turkey carcass pieces; separate meat from bone and return meat to the soup.
Separate biscuits; place on top of soup.
Cover; cook on high 15-20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
