Touch of Nectar











{October 28, 2008}   Dinner – Pork Scallopine

I had a pork roast in the fridge that needed to be cooked, and I didn’t really want to do the whole “roast” thing, so I decided to cut it up and make… Scallopine! Loosely based on a chicken scallopine recipe I found on Recipe Zaar, it was pretty easy to make!


First I cut the roast into 1/2 inch slices. Then I pounded those down to about 1/4 inch each and dropped them into a ziplock bag with flour. In hindsight, dredging them in flour in a small pan would have been easier and more effective. I heated a bit of vegetable oil in a skillet and browned the pork on both sides. I set aside the browned meat, with a tinfoil tent to keep it warm while I made the sauce.

I deglazed the pan with chicken broth, then added onions, lemon zest and lemon juice. I let this reduce for about 5 minutes, then added just a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up. Meanwhile I boiled some mini gnocchi and steamed some green beans. The gnocchi was simply dressed with a bit of butter. With the sauce for the meat that was all it really needed. Dinner is served!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
