Touch of Nectar











{October 27, 2008}   Teriyaki Meatloaf and Taters

Hubby is a meat-n-taters sort of guy. Me? I’d probably be a vegetarian if he weren’t around. Last night, dinner was all about him. I made a Teriyaki Meatloaf, flavored with brown sugar and soy sauce, with more of the same drizzled on the top. It really did taste a bit like teriyaki. I also made roasted sweet and regular potatoes and peas. The meatloaf was inhaled. Seriously. I looked over and his plate was EMPTY! That doesn’t happen all that often.

The potatoes I did in a very simple way. I just tossed them with a good drizzle of olive oil, then spread them on a foil-lined cookie sheet. Then I sprinkled them with salt and freshly ground black pepper. I could have added herbs – sage or rosemary would have been especially nice, but I was looking for simplicity. They were baked (with the meatloaf) for about 25 minutes. Just until they were done, and browning very slightly on the edges. I don’t like over-browned potatoes. Hubby won’t eat sweet potatoes, but I love them, so he got mostly white potatoes and I got mostly sweets. Fine by me!

 

Dinner all plated up. The peas were simply frozen peas I zapped in the microwave. But we had clean plates all the way around!

Hubby was sent off to work today with a meatloaf sandwich – on homemade bread!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
