Touch of Nectar











{October 20, 2008}   Dinner and Bento #5

Normally, when the hubby isn’t going to be home for dinner, we eat vegetarian meals. I can sneak some vegetarian meals in his diet (think pizza and pasta) but nothing like tofu or “weird” grains will get by him.

I had pulled chicken legs out of the freezer, thinking he was going to be home (he wasn’t) so they needed to be cooked. Ah well. Chicken for dinner I guess.

I did a very simple dump-and-bake with some hoisin sauce and they turned out wonderful. Very moist and flavorful. It doesn’t get any easier than that!

To go with the chicken, I had promised the Madster noodles. In this case, soba noodles with kale, carrots, sesame (seeds and oil) and some diced baked tofu. Fantastic! And a sneaky way to get her to eat more veggies. Of course, as usual, I made too many noodles, so they are destined for my lunch today (and probably tomorrow too). I hadn’t thought about it until just now, but the Sesame Noodles are vegan. Bonus!


In the left box is fresh beets, green beans, yellow cherry tomatoes and a couple of quail eggs resting on carrot shreds. Not pictured is a small container of honey-mustard dip. I’m excited to try the beets with that!

In the right box is edamame and my sesame soba noodles. I also packed a small container with most of an over-ripe pear and some strawberries. Call that dessert if you want.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
