Touch of Nectar











{October 16, 2008}   Leftover Makeover! Sweet Potato Ravioli/Gyoza/Pierogi

A few nights ago I made Apricot Mashed Sweet Potatoes. I had more leftovers than I really wanted to eat as regular mashed potatoes, so I started brainstorming ideas. Ravioli or Pierogis. Or more accurately, gyoza. I had picked up some gyoza (or pot sticker) wrappers at the Asian market earlier in the week with the intention of making mushroom potstickers, but the package was huge, so this was a perfect solution. I’ll make the mushoom ones soon.

Instead of doing this one at a time, I found it more efficient to make sort of an assembly line.

Step 1: Lay out the wrappers.

Step 2: Drop about 1 teaspoon filling in the center of each.

Step 3: wet edges with water (or egg) and fold closed, pushing out any air pockets (important!)

Step 4: crimp edges with a pot sticker (pierogi?) maker. Or use a fork. 

Assembled ravioli/gyoza/pierogies.

I flash froze these in a single layer, then dumped them into a freezer bag. They are ready to be steamed or boiled (or fried??!). I think a sage and brown butter sauce might be just about perfect with them. Or a light cream sauce. Yum!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
