Touch of Nectar











{October 15, 2008}   Gnocchi Dinner and leftovers for lunch (Bento #3)

It’s Fall. Time for creamy satisfying comfort food. We eat a lot of gnocchi in the Fall and Winter months. It takes so well to rich, creamy sauces. Last night’s dinner was no exception. Simple in concept, but complex in flavors. I only made part of the recipe because I wanted leftovers, but not TOO many leftovers. I used dried herbs instead of fresh, which worked fine. My gnocchi was done before the sauce was ready, so I drained it and set it aside, then reheated it in the sauce when it was ready.

Here is the full version of the recipe:

Gnocchi with Mushroom Sauce

1 tablespoon oil
1 medium
brown onion, chopped coarsely
2 garlic cloves, crushed
400 g
swiss brown mushrooms, sliced thinly
1 tablespoon plain flour
1/2 cup dry red wine
3 teaspoons soy sauce
2/3 cup
vegetable stock
2/3 cup light sour cream
1 tablespoon fresh oregano, coarsely chopped
1 tablespoon fresh sage, finely chopped
600 g fresh 
gnocchi

Heat oil in large frying pan. Cook onion, garlic and mushrooms until just tender.
Add flour and stir through for 1 minute.

Add wine, soy sauce, stock and cream stirring until sauce thickens slightly. Stir in herbs.

Meanwhile cook gnocchi uncovered in a large pan of salted boiling water, until gnocchi rise to the surface are just tender. Drain.

Add gnocchi to mushroom sauce and gently fold through to combine.

As planned, I had leftovers for my lunch today. And since I had to package dinner up anyway, I ended up making my lunch last night. I have been eating so much healthier and in better proportions since I have started doing my lunches as bentos. And I’m not hungry at 3pm!

The box on the right has my leftover mushroom gnocchi (yeah, I know, it looks like poop… but it tastes GOOD!) and some steamed green beans.

The box on the left has a boiled egg, a huge strawberry, yellow heirloom cherry tomatoes, cheese and edamame (which doesn’t exactly go with the rest of my lunch… oh well). The lid, which is supposed to contain my eating implements has pretzels.

I’m also bringing a orange, cut in wedges for lunch. It doesn’t look like much food, but that gnocchi is RICH.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
