Touch of Nectar











{October 9, 2008}   Cannellini and Cabbage Soup – Or how to convert leftovers

Sunday night I made Oktoberfest Pork Roast in the crock pot. The roast quickly disappeared, but I had lots of leftover beans. What to do with them? Half went in the freezer in small portions. Those can be made into soup or something else later. 

I found a recipe for Cannellini and Cabbage Soup in my 1001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes cookbook. I  love this book!! So many great ideas. In fact, I liked it so much I bought the sequel (1001 More…).

The beans were already seasoned with juices from the pork and intermingled with small chunks of onion and apples (quite delicious!).  Since I already had lots of flavor in the beans, I had to make a few adaptations to the recipe.

Here is the original recipe:

Cannellini and Cabbage Soup

vegetable oil cooking spray
3 cups thinly sliced cabbage
1 small onion, coarsely chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon crushed 
caraway seed
2 (15 ounce) cans
reduced-sodium chicken broth
1 cup
water
1 (15 ounce) can
great northern beans, rinsed, drained
1/2 cup mostaccioli pasta, uncooked (penne)
salt and pepper to taste

Spray large saucepan with cooking spray; heat over medium heat until hot. Sauté cabbage, onion, garlic, and caraway seeds until cabbage begins to wilt, 8 to 10 minutes. Add chicken broth, water, and beans to saucepan; heat to boiling.  Stir in pasta; reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, until pasta is al dente, about 15 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

What I did… I sauteed the cabbage and only 2 cloves of garlic in a little olive oil. After the cabbage was tender I added  I used about 4 cups of water and added some chicken bouillon. Then I stirred in the beans. I omitted the onions and caraway seed (didn’t have any). I let this come to a boil then added several handfuls (I rarely measure when cooking for myself!) of piccolini penne.

After the pasta was cooked, I dished up the soup and served it with some dark brown bread and butter. Nice Italian/Germann comfort food dinner for a rainy night. A bit of a bland looking soup, but it was very satisfying.  Crispy bacon crumbled on top would have made it even better!

To make this truely vegetarian – use vegetarian beans (canned or not) and vegetable broth.

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
