Touch of Nectar











{October 8, 2008}   Tofu Night!

On nights hubby isn’t home for dinner, my daughter and I have vegetarian night. She loves tofu, so we often do that. This dinner was no different.

For the tofu, I sliced extra-firm tofu into 1/2 inch slices and my little helper put them in the marinade for me. The marinade consisted of soy sauce, fresh ginger, sesame oil and a little fresh black pepper.

  

I set the tofu and marinade aside while I prepared the rest of the ingredients. We were also having some stir-fried mushrooms – fresh shiitakes and oyster mushrooms I picked up at the Asian market a couple of days ago. And some sauteed/steamed peavine. I can only find peavine at Central Market and Ranch 99. It is a little spendy for a green vegetable, but I love the stuff! The Madster wasn’t too sure on how to eat it (it is kinda stringy) but she liked it once she got the hang of it.

After the mushrooms were sliced and the tofu had soaked for awhile, I fired up a couple of skillets. Into the first went the tofu, in a single layer. Into the second went the mixed mushrooms, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and just a dash of soy sauce.

When the tofu was nicely crisped and golden on both sides and the mushrooms were almost done, I cooked the peavine. Below is a photo of dinner plated up. YUM!!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
