Touch of Nectar











{October 6, 2008}   Northwest Cellars 2004 Merlot

Anyone who knows me knows how much I love wine. We almost always have a glass or two with dinner. I like having a well stocked wine rack and I thoroughly enjoy finding new wines to try. Tonight is no exception. I used to keep a sort of wine journal, but it has been years since I’ve taken notes about any of the wines we drink. I think with the blog that will all change now!

I just opened a bottle of Northwest Cellars 2004 Merlot. Wow!! This is a big wine! The first thing you notice is it’s beautiful dark, rich color, so it is not surprising that it is laden with tastes of dark fruit and spice. It gives a nice pucker in the back of your mouth. Excellent!! And a good deal too! I paid just over $7 for it. I had found it in the clearance section at the local QFC. The original price tag says $10.99 and on the winery’s site it sells for $13.99. Cool! Looks like I got myself a deal!

The wine itself isn’t just Merlot. It is a blend of 80% merlot, 16% Cabernet Sauvingnon and 4% Syrah. Well that figures!! I tend to like blends better than true varietals and this one is no exception. The label is a beautiful blue-toned Seattle scene (Lake Union?).

I went to check out Northwest Cellars‘ website – they are local, but I didn’t know anything about them. They are a relatively new winery to the Northwest, started in 2004. And they just opened a tasting room in Kirkland last month. That’s right across the lake! I need to go. Sounds like a good place for date-night.

The other cool thing about the winery is that you can order custom labels to go with your wine selections. With Christmas not too far away and several wine drinkers on my list, I may have found a creative new present!

Bob Delf says:

hi,
Glad you liked the wine. WOW, you did get a great deal, was that at Lynnwood QFC? Our tasting room is not open yet, but if you want to be on our email newsletter list, you can sign up on the home page of our site. Questions? call me at 206-601-9217.
Cheers,
Bob
Head Wine Geek



Leave a Reply

et cetera
