Touch of Nectar











{October 6, 2008}   Ginger Vinaigrette Salad

Sometimes all you need for a satisfying meal is a big bowl full of salad.  I buy Romaine lettuce in heads and wash and chop it at home. After a short spin in the salad spinner it goes into zip lock bags. Sometimes I add other greens; arugula, frissee… whatever is looking good at the market. Usually I have cabbage and carrot shreds to toss into my salads too.

I don’t stop there. I like to add all kinds of stuff to my salads. Garbanzo beans and jarred garlic mushrooms are big favorites of mine.  In the summer I add seasonal veggies and in the winter I’ll add artichoke hearts and canned mandarines.

Last night’s salad was a bit different. I wanted salad, but I wanted something with an Asian flavor to it, and I also wanted fruit…  So I filled a bowl with mixed greens and carrot shreds, sliced half of a Bartlett pear, chopped one green onion and drizzled the whole thing with a ginger vinaigrette dressing. YUM!!

Dressing:
fresh grated ginger
dried shallots
rice wine vinegar
juice of 1/4 lime
soy sauce
olive oil
sesame oil
pinch sugar

The gingery dressing was perfect with the sweetness of the pears and the bite of the onion. I didn’t measure the ingredients, I just poured from each bottle what looked (to me) like a good amount of each. After tasting, I added just a pinch of sugar to cut the acidity a little. Excellent!  If I had been hungrier, I might have added some grilled shrimp to the salad.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
