Touch of Nectar











{October 3, 2008}   Double Chocolate Cherry Cookies
There is nothing I like better to do on a rainy day than to make a yummy batch of cookies. The oven warms the house and the scent of baked goodness fills the air. Today’s choice was a recipe I found on RecipeZaar and includes some of my favorite things – chocolate and wine! The wine I used was Chilean Merlot called Big Fat Llama. This (cheap! $6) wine has chocolate undertones so I thought it would be perfect for these cookies – and it is.

I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. I used about a cup of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the dark chocolate. I did this for two reasons. Number one being hubby doesn’t like dark chocolate. Number two, I didn’t have any in the house.  The cherries I used were ones I had dried several weeks ago (my mother in law had given me a HUGE box of bing cherries – the dehydrator and freezer were/are loaded!) Since they were whole cherries, I cut them in halves and quarters with a pair of kitchen shears. This also let me catch any pits that were still hanging around.  

Double Chocolate Cherry Cookies
Makes about 3 dozen

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup good quality cocoa powder
 
1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon
baking soda
1/2 cup
butter, softened
3/4 cup
granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed 
brown sugar
1 large
egg
1 teaspoon
vanilla extract
1/2 cup
dry red wine, such as burgundy
10 ounces
dark chocolate
, broken into chunks
1 cup
dried tart cherries

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Gather your ingredients. 

Combine flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking soda in a bowl. In a bowl of an electric mixer, or with a handheld mixer, combine butter and sugars until fluffy. Add egg, vanilla, and wine and combine. Slowly in batches add the flour mixture until just combined.

Fold in the chocolate and cherries. 

On a nonstick cookie sheet, place a heaping tablespoon of dough for each cookie about 2 inches apart from each other. Bake 8 to 10 minutes, or until tops are still soft looking but edges look firm. (8 minutes in my oven was perfect.)

     

These cookies are incredibly rich and chewy. Almost like a brownie, but not. I can’t wait to try them later with some of the merlot they were made with. YUM!!

 

 

 

Sarah says:

You save me any? 😉
Sarah



Leave a Reply

et cetera
